SymRDP complete tutorial

I’m glad to say that I’ve finally got my hands on Samsung i8910 HD (aka Omnia HD), thanks to my friend Uros. This great device will be with me over the next couple of days, so I’ll use this opportunity to write a tutorial about remote desktop connection on Symbian OS, as opposed to one of my previous tutorials about setting up RDP on Windows Mobile 6.5.

I will describe how to set up an amazing app from Telexy – SymRDP (remote desktop protocol), the only s60 application that allows you to control your PC from your touch screen Symbian device. You actually see your computer screen on your phone. This application is extremely useful and very easy to use. However, many users have problems connecting, so I’ve decided to write and record very detailed tutorials.

Here’s the official picture ((c) Telexy.com)

So, lets begin. Before you launch the application, you need to allow remote connections on your PC. Right click on the Computer icon, and select ‘Properties’. Now select “Advanced system settings”.

Then, go to “Remote” tab, and mark the second option in the Remote Desktop box:

Now, phase number two: how to setup your s60v5 phone. Upon launching the SymRDP, you’ll see only the Network folder. Click ‘Options’ and you’ll be at the following screen:

First, we need to make a new account, so click on the ‘Account’. As you can probably see there’s already one account in the list named ‘Everyone’, but you need to make a new account by clicking ‘Options’, and then ‘Add new’.

You should see the following screen:

In the ‘User’ field, type in the username you use on your PC. Fill in the password you use to login to your PC account in the ‘Password’ field. Click ‘Done’, and you will see your freshly made account in the account list.

Click ‘Back’, and you’ll be at the start screen. Now, click ‘Options’ one more time, and then ‘Add new’. This is the part where the vast majority of users fail, so I’ll go very slowly, field by field.

1. ‘Name’ – fill in anything you like, preferably your PC’s description.

2. ‘Host’ – this field should contain the IP address of your PC (or its name).

3. ‘Access point’ – select the access point that connects your mobile to your computer network, from the list of available access points.

4. ‘Account’ – select the account we made.

It’s very easy from now on.

5. ”Screen resolution’ – leave this at 1280×720.

6. ‘Session to open’ – leave at Regular.

7. ‘Color depth’ – select 24BPP (bits per pixel) for better image quality.

8. ‘Mouse handedness’  – select “left” or “right”, whichever you use on your computer mouse.

So, when you fill in all the fields, you should see something similar to this:

Click ‘Done’, and that should be it! You’ll see your PC listed in the start screen.

Click on your PC in the list, and then ‘Connect’:

Soon you’ll see the Windows login screen. Your cell will be in the landscape mode, and your PC will automatically “Switch user”, because you cannot be logged in from two places at the same time (in this mode at least).

Finally, here are some pictures to show the immense capabilities of SymRDP:

By clicking on the keyboard button (the one in the middle), you get fully functional full QWERTY keyboard on your phone’s screen. You can type anything, here’s an example for Microsoft Word:

When you finish remote controlling of your PC, click on the left icon (3 horizontal bars) and click ‘Close’. Upon disconnecting, you will see this message:

I’ve also made a video tutorial, and you can watch it on my YouTube channel, or directly here: (I recommend watching in HD)

I hope you like these tutorials… It’s easier to keep up if you follow me on Twitter! 🙂

Comments are welcome.

    • Arshux
    • March 7th, 2010

    hello dear highdiver !
    please please tell me how can i connect To s60v5 phone to each other by telexy apps ? ( wich one ??? ) ?
    please learn me step-by-step how to transfer files via Wi-Fi Like bluetooth ?????? ( for more speed ) !!! thank you again .. i’m wating for your answer ! may mail : iranhclub@gmail.com

  1. dear Arshux,

    I will try this tonight, and I will let you know if it is possible.

    • Arshux
    • March 7th, 2010

    wow ! you are great ! i’m wating . . . thanx A Lot . . .

  2. I’m sorry Arshux, but it seems this is not possible: I tried to use SymNC on one phone (to browse network) and SymNAS on the other one (to create a network share). Both phones cannot be connected to the same WiFi network at the same time.

    Edit: both phones can be connected to the same WiFi at the same time.

    • Arshux
    • March 8th, 2010

    ok my friend ! thanx ! but i can’t understand did you use router ? or you try to connect to phones without anything else ??? if it’s not possible no matter ! thanx A lot for your attention . . .

  3. you are welcome!

    You must have a router. I used my router to connect to my WiFi network from the first phone (with SymNC) and to make a network attached storage from the second phone (with SymNAS)

    • Arshux
    • March 8th, 2010

    hello again highdiver ! sorry for my questions !!!!
    can i have your mail ???

  4. Sorry, but I don’t usually give my email address, you can ask me here anything you want that is related to this topic…

    • Ripton
    • March 15th, 2010

    I want to ask something

    When i connect to my comp and i click on my Acc on the comp it says :

    Login faliure:user accpount restricion.Possible reasons are blank pass not allowed.login hour restrictions,or a policy restriction has been enforced…

  5. dear Ripton,

    make sure you use password for logging in to your PC account.

    • isii
    • March 29th, 2010

    hi admin thankyou for your expression.

    but I get an error:

    Transport channel open faiulre.

    help me please.

  6. hi isii,

    did you allow remote desktop connection on your PC?

    This is the most common reason for that error.

    • Lazaros
    • April 7th, 2010

    Hello highdiver and thank you very much for the detailed guide. Much appreciated. I was wondering , is it possible with this or a similar programm to do the same job but not via your local wifi network ? Join your computer when you’r not at home.

  7. If you want to access your PC from your mobile phone when you’re not at home, you need to use SymVPN, because, I quote the official site: “SymVPN-created Access Point, combined with SymRDP, will secure your Remote Desktop Access to home or office computer over the Internet”

    • alagates
    • April 9th, 2010

    im using windows 7 and when i connect using symrdp it gets connected but the connection fails every 1 minute saying rdp session terminated…any idea why this happens???waitin for ur reply highdiver……….

  8. Hi alagates, I don’t know if you’re using the official version, or the cracked one? I’ve heard that cracked version disconnects often, and (if you’re using it) I suggest that you try again with the official version.

    • jandu
    • April 18th, 2010

    hi i got same error as isii: Transport channel open failure. i’ve checked everything could it be my router?

  9. Well, it might be, but make sure that remote connections to your PC are enabled, because this is the most common mistake.

    • Kokinator
    • April 24th, 2010

    Hello highdiver ! thanks a lot for both the video and written tt, they’re enlightening. I agree with Lazaros that a truly remote connection to ones desktop would be great. I remember trying this in my N95 with the SymVPN available at that time, there wasn’t a SymRDP though… but the point is i had no good results, i established a domain (free one) to redirect to my local IP with dyndns and set up my 3COM router to accept this as well as prepared my XP OS. What did i miss? Perhaps you could help us with a similar directions using this new SymVPN and the SymRDP both fantastic tools. Thx again!

  10. Hello Kokinator, thank you for your kind words… 🙂

    To be honest, I’m not sure I can help you with this problem, I haven’t tried this, but try asking the same question on Telexy’s forum – http://forum.telexy.com/

    They will surely be able to help you…

    Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful.

    • Kokinator
    • April 25th, 2010

    Hello once more Highdiver,

    It’s all right, you’ve really done more than enough with yor great tts, it’s all good, all roads lead to Rome, that’s what counts.

    • md2
    • May 19th, 2010

    If you are having the “Transport Channel Open Failure” message, check out this link:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/mobility/getstarted/remoteintro.mspx

    This should solve the problem

    • duzda
    • July 26th, 2010

    hi i have problem i have successfully manage to run app, and it is awesome, but after approximately one minute connect has failed.. Why? I have hacked Nokia 5800 xm …

    And one more question about RDP, is there some option to see on phone and pc progress, instead of black screen with user name and pass on my pc ofc. Tnx.

    Good work u help me a lot with tutorial!! Keep going!

  11. Thanks, mate!
    Works for me 🙂

  12. In current SymRDP 1.00.47 version, the support for “Always Ask” mode during Access Point selection does NOT work properly.
    Sorry for inconvenience. This issue should be corrected in next SymRDP version when it will be available.
    Until then please do not use “Always Ask” mode and use specific Access Point instead.

    An attempt to use “Always Ask” mode in SymRDP 1.00.47 most likely will bring the following Error Message.

    Error Message Text: Transport channel open failure
    Decimal Code: -109999
    Hexadecimal: 0xfffe5251

    seconds before Error Message appears: from 1 to 3

    • Mehul
    • October 1st, 2010

    Hey highdiver can you tell me wht is access point and how to assign access point..??

    • ruru kumar sahu
    • October 22nd, 2010

    dear friend,

    This software shows “transport channel open failure”. will you please help me???? plz….

    • Kishor
    • November 10th, 2010

    hi everyone!

    I have a problem. When I connect to my computer via symRDP within my network (home wifi), it works well. But when I try to connect from any other access points (wifi of my office), it says transport channel open failure.

    what should I do for that? My IP address is 124.41.233.***

    The last number changes when I restart my pc.

  13. Hello highdiver,

    Thank you so much for the amazing tutorial, I was able to connect on my first try. 🙂

    Just a question: is there anyway to connect by putting the computer name instead of IP address in the host field? I’ve tried that but it didn’t work. Using IP address is rather inconvenient for me as my school network changes my IP everytime I restart my computer.

    Once again thanks! 🙂

    • marjan
    • December 7th, 2010

    I also have a problem with terminated sessions, after aprox. 1 minute i get a “RDP session terminated”. Ive tried disabling firewalls, AVs,opend 3389 but no luck… Tried all settings combiantions in SYMRDP. Any solutions?

    • Hi Marjan,

      Try again with the official, trial version, of this app.

    • robert
    • December 23rd, 2010

    hi i got same error as isii: Transport channel open failure. i gone through the link

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/mobility/getstarted/remoteintro.mspx

    but it didnt work..whats the solution..? plz reply soon..

    • Hi Robert,

      Try again with the official, trial version, of this app, and see if it works.

    • gigi
    • December 26th, 2010

    which connection should i select if my notebook is connected on internet trough wifi connection of my pc desktop? Please help me, i need this program!

    • teezed
    • January 23rd, 2011

    Sorry, but stop referring to “official download”, because I spent money on the telexy website and downloaded (and again) , so I should be pretty sure to have a current ; version (was 1..B47) , but still nothing but continuous disconnections.. ; users should req their money back ,no answers from telexy regarding this

  14. Hi
    i m not very much aware of the networking, i dont know what is that host exactly, how to configure that host option?? plz help….

  15. Hi recently i installed this software but i m unable to configure it plz be advice.

    • Renny
    • February 12th, 2011

    Thanks for the tutorial, I was able to make it work, Now it works nicely but I have 2 questions:

    1)is there a way son you can have your mobile screen and pc screen at the same time, I mean when I ama ble to see my pc screen on my cellphone then my PC screen goes to the sign in page.

    2) what will happen for the PCs that do not need any kind of password or username I mean you just turn them on and they run without any username or whatever, so I guess I dont need any kind of Username and password in my PC, do i leave it in blank??

    thanks

    renny

    • ImC
    • March 5th, 2011

    i have windows 7 home premium whit licence but i don`t have Remote Desktop box (alow connection from computer running any version of remote ) can i do something whit that ?

    • jayaram
    • March 20th, 2011

    hai highdriver till now i have tried several times to connect always the result is Transport channel open failure i have an omnia hd i8910 and iam using win 7 os,plz help me… thanks in advance…

    • sun820
    • March 25th, 2011

    hi all this work on Nokia N8 ?

    • Unfortunately no, because this version of SymRDP doesn’t support the new Symbian operating system.

    • Nick
    • March 30th, 2011

    Hi. this programe works well on my home network but as soon as i use the internet i get the transport conection open alarm.i have tried the local ip address and the internet ipaddress. any ideas?

    • Hussain
    • May 18th, 2011

    hey highdiver thanks for the hard work u r doing. bt i m nt able to connect to my pc … as u said i filled in all the detalis bt wen i click on connect the log on screen opens on my mobile bt my computer screen remains the same! nothing elz happens plz help

    • Harish G
    • June 28th, 2011

    Hi

    Can i connect my win 7 laptop to my x6 without internet connection, only with the internal wifi.

    Harish G.

    • mbiata1
    • July 5th, 2011

    pls how can i find my laptop ip address

  16. sir its say server has terminated..why?sir plz my help me.

  17. help me sir

  18. plz sir hepl me

    • Karolis
    • October 20th, 2011

    In Windows 7 everything seems good, but when i try enter password when connected shows that username or password wrong. That’s could be?

    • vipin
    • December 28th, 2011

    thank you bro so much but but mobile says The user name or password is incorrect OK ….?

    • Sudeepto Dutta
    • February 8th, 2012

    Sir…Whenever I connect i get a message saying

    Logon Failure: user account restriction.Possible reasons….& something something..

    Another problem is RDP session is terminated…I mean i just use it for about 2 minutes or so and it gets off 😦

    PLz help sir

    • Sumit
    • February 18th, 2012

    Hello
    i get transport channel open failed error

  19. Transport channel open failure

    • mostafa
    • May 5th, 2012

    hey i got transport channel open failure

    • mostafa
    • May 5th, 2012

    i also made an AD-HOC Wi-Fi on my laptop called tenda. so should i choose of this ad-hoc wifi as an access point? please help me. thanks in advance

    • mostafa
    • May 5th, 2012

    And one more question: What kind of connection is Luna adsl? I mean is it a packet data connection or an AD-HOC Wi-Fi created on your PC that connects the mobile with the laptop? please reply as quick as possible..
    thanks highdiver.

    • mohit
    • October 1st, 2012

    hey…..sir all thing done,mobile r connected but i does access any this

    • M.Bakhsh
    • October 20th, 2012

    Transport channel error comes in my 5800, on the other hand , i have a tp link adapter

  1. March 6th, 2010
  2. January 2nd, 2011

Leave a Reply

