How to set up SymNAS, or how to access your phone from PC via WiFi network

SymNAS is my favorite Telexy’s application, hands down, so I will really enjoy writing this tutorial. This is absolutely the best app for wireless access to your phone’s contents from your computer. I use SymNAS every single time I want to transfer files to/from my Nokia N82. You may think the wireless transfer it’s slow, but it’s NOT! I assure you, I stopped using USB cable connection when I installed this great utility!!!

Setting up SymNAS is relatively easy and it’s also semi-automatic. I’ve also recorded a 3 minute video tutorial, so head over to YouTube and have a look! While you’re there, you can also subscribe to my channel. 🙂 (one click on the image will also get you there).

You can also watch it here:

So, lets begin. After launching SymNC (again, I’m using SymNC, which consists of SymNAS, among other apps), scroll down till you get to Settings. Open it, and select NAS:

You will see the following screen:

Now, we will make a new share (shared folder). As you can see, I’ve already shared my entire memory card (E:\), so I’ll explain sharing for phone’s memory (the procedure is basically the same):

Click on Options->Add new and you will get to the screen where you need to choose the desired folder and its name.

Click on ‘Folder’, and the Options->Browse. You should see this:

In this case, I will select entire phone’s memory (including all subfolders) by clicking ‘Done’ while C:\ is highlighted. (You can browse to the specific folder by clicking on C:\ and then pressing ‘Done’ after selecting the folder.) If you did this correctly, you will now have the option to rename your share:

I will leave the given name. Click ‘Done’ and you will see the following warning popup that tells you that everyone can access your share, and it offers you to change that:

If you want to select specific pre-made accounts (how to make a new account in SymNC is described in detail in one of my previous tutorials), select ‘Yes’. Otherwise select ‘No’. If you clicked on ‘Yes’, you will be at the screen that will allow you to select user and user-specific read/write permissions:

In the ‘Account’ field, select the desired account, and modify the read/write capabilities if you want to. Click ‘Done’ and you should see your new share.

Press ‘Back’ and select ‘Network Jacks’. Now click on Options->Add new and you will be at the following screen:

Now, field by field:

1. In the ‘Access point’ field select the access point that connects to your home/work computer network.

2. If your computers are connected in a workgroup, skip the ‘Member of’ field, otherwise select ‘Domain’.

3. Depending on your previous choice, third field will be either ‘Workgroup’ or ‘Domain’. In both cases, you will need to fill in the name of your workgroup or domain. To find this on your PC (I assume you use Windows 7), right click the Computer, and then select ‘Properties’. You will see the basic info about your PC, and you will have to click on ‘Advanced system settings’, located in the upper left corner of the page:

After doing so, click on the ‘Computer name’ tab, and you will see the name of your workgroup:

My workgroup name is “WORKGROUP” (how innovative, huh? 🙂 ), so I will leave that intact because that name is automatically filled in.

4. ‘Autoconnect’ is the option that will allow you to select when will your phone be accessible from PC. You can choose between ‘Disabled’ (which is actually Manual plugging in), ‘Always’ which drains the battery life, ‘In charging mode’ which is self-explanatory and “On Application start’ which plugs in your mobile to your computer network every time you launch SymNAS/SymNC. I like to use ‘Disabled’, because it suits my needs the most.

Click ‘Done’ and setup is finished! You will see your freshly made network jack:

Click on it and select ‘Plug in’, wait a few seconds, and the following popup screen will emerge:

Remember, or even better, write down the two last lines, because you will need to type in that information on your PC when mapping network drive.

Again, I will explain this for Windows 7. Open Computer and click on ‘Map network drive’ (located up, in the middle), and then fill in your phones name OR its IP address (192.168.1.25 in my case) in the ‘Folder field’. Click ‘Finish’ and that should be it, you are now able to access your phones files and folders from your PC via WiFi network! Superb functionality, don’t you think?

I hope you like this tutorial, and that you find it useful. Questions and comments are, as usually, welcome.

  1. Hey im having problems mapping netwok drive on windows 7, when i add my phones ip it asks me for an user and a password, i have tried everything but nothing works.. i would apreciate your help very much (sorry for my english it isnt my native language)

    • Edit: The symNAS version i have instaled didnt installe the symNC, i also instaled symSMB and this one works for me, but others like symSync doesnt.. i dont know what to do or what is the problem

    • Shokri
    • April 28th, 2011

    Hi
    Every time I want to connect to my phone via windows it ask me username and password. I dont have any idea about that u/p.
    please help me.

    • noksu5800
    • July 16th, 2011

    WIN 7 and nokia 5800 mapping seems not working here either – first
    asked for user name and password but then receive
    “The specified server cannot perform the requested operation”
    help highly appreciated

  2. I made complete tutorial video to setup SymNAS on phone and windows on you tube, you can see it,

    • Nick
    • April 23rd, 2012

    Thanks! Works like a charm!

  3. hey dude when i remove this update my lappie stop displaying my phone name , but when it was installed it give me error as”contact the administrator for permissions and so on….” plz help

  1. February 2nd, 2010
    Trackback from : uberVU – social comments
  2. May 10th, 2010
  3. October 17th, 2010
  4. January 2nd, 2011

Leave a Reply

