Step by step, pictured tutorial about setting up Network Drive using Telexy SymNC

I’m sure you’ve heard of Telexy, a Canadian software company that has brought us a set of great applications for our S60 mobiles.

Their flagship application is called SymNC, and it’s the best networking tool for your s60 device money can buy! It consists of several apps (that can be bought separately), including SymNAS (Network Attached Storage), SymVPN (Virtual Private Network), SymSync, SymRDP (Remote Desktop Protocol), etc… All of these apps allow you to connect your phone to your home/work network (in different ways, of course). I was lucky enough to translate SymNC to Serbian language, and I’ve received a license for this extremely useful software. I use it daily, and it’s a great time saver! To be honest, I cannot remember when was the last time I used USB cable to connect my Nokia N82 to my PC…

However, many of my friends that installed trials of these apps bumped into the same problem: how do I get this thing to work? So, I’ve decided to write several, (maybe overly) detailed tutorials about connecting your cell to your computer network.

I will start with mapping network drive in SymNC. If you do this correctly, you will be able to easily access any shared folder on your network using your phone.

Before we start, make sure that you have a wireless network in your home/workplace, and that your mobile has WiFi connectivity.

Upon launching SymNC,

scroll down and select Settings:

Now select Accounts:

Click on ‘Options’, then select ‘Add new’, and you should see the following screen:

Here’s the tricky part. The field ‘Name’ should contain the name of your PC that is connected to your network / your username on the PC. For example, if your PC’s name is My-PC and your username is John, you should type in My-PC/John. Use your PC password for the ‘Password’ field.

After making your new account, press Back, and select Net Drives:

Press ‘Options’, then ‘Add new’, and you will get to this screen:

We are almost finished, so bear with me. 🙂

All the fields are mandatory, so lets start from beginning:

1. ‘Name’ – This is the name of your network drive that will be visible on SymNC’s home screen, so you can type in anything you want.

2. ‘Drive’ – Select any letter you like (you will not be able to select C, E or F because they are reserved for phone’s drives), it will also be shown on app’s home screen.

3. ‘Access point’ – Select access point that connects to your network.

4. ‘Account’ – select previously made account.

5. ‘Host’ – here you have to type in the name of the computer (or  network attached storage) you are trying to connect to. So, if you named your laptop “my-laptop”, type that in (without quotes).

6. ‘Share’ – type in the name of shared folder on your computer. Of course, prior to this you have to mark the desired folder on your computer as “Shared” (right click on the folder, then ‘Properties’, then tab ‘Sharing’ and click share). For example, if you shared the folder name Docs, type it in this field.

Now click ‘Done’ and you’ve successfully mapped your net drive. Now you are ready to browse your network using your cell phone. Congratulations!!! 🙂

p.s. More tutorials are on the way, next one will probably be about SymSync, and how to set up folder syncing between your PC and mobile phone using WiFi connection.

    • Wil
    • January 12th, 2010

    Thanks for very good tutorial, it works like a charm!

  1. You are welcome Wil, thank you for your comment! 🙂

    • cvijan
    • January 12th, 2010

    Highdiver, thank you very much for this..One of the best tutorials out there..Keep up the good work..

    • Gianluca
    • January 14th, 2010

    Great post! I sould like to read similar post on how to set a vpn connection with your home network sharing your own folders using symvpn or symnc.

  2. Thank you Gianluca! Unfortunately, I don’t use VPN in general, so I don’t need to use SymVPN. I will write tutorials about the rest of the Telexy’s application suite.

  3. I have needed this information for so long. Where have you been!!! Thanks

  4. Wow, thanks for this. You seem to be quite the expert in this category. I’ll stop by more often.

  5. I’ve been looking through your blog. You’ve got some nice posts on here, especially this one, I enjoyed it…nice post. Consider yourself bookmarked 🙂 .

    • Abdul Basit
    • August 25th, 2010

    Thanx bro for so much information, you are more than just a genius, bro can u tell me how can i transfer data from my pc to n95 without wifi router (ad hoc connection) i have a wifi usb but no wifi router , no Wlan. Still can i use telexy norton commander to tranfer data using “ad hoc” connection, if it is possible , plz can u give me a turotial , i shall be so thankfull to u, God bless u brother…..

  6. эти программы работает только по wi-fi? или по блютуз тоже????

    • Mkariti
    • December 15th, 2010

    Hi there,
    Many thanks for this great tutorial but I cant seems to make it work.
    For some reason I can conect my E71 via my PC but not the other way around.
    Any Idea?
    cheers

    • Daniyal Qureshi
    • November 9th, 2012

    I’m getting error msg: “invalid user name or password”
    while i’m sure my details are 100% correct
    Reply please

  7. Thumb down!!!!
    steps were wrong after 4 hours of experiment i came to conclusion that you don’t have to write in the username
    “the name of your PC that is connected to your network / your username on the PC”

    You just need to write simply the user name n the pass in there fields respectively.

    If anyone is getting same problem of invalid user name or password then read my above instructions

Leave a Reply

